Scroll Top

Pokemon Red & Blue

Title: Pokemon Red & Blue 

Developer: Game Freak 

Publisher: Nintendo 

Platforms: Game Boy, Nintendo 3DS (Virtual Console) 

Release date: September 28, 1998 

Game rating: E for Everyone
  • Players can choose their starter Pokémon from three options: Bulbasaur, Charmander, and Squirtle.
  • The game introduces 151 unique Pokémon species that can be caught and trained.
  • Battles take place in turn-based RPG style, and players must strategically choose their Pokémon’s moves and types to defeat opponents.
  • The game features a journey through the Kanto region, with various towns, cities, routes, and landmarks to explore.
  • Along with the main storyline, there are post-game challenges, such as the Elite Four and the opportunity to catch legendary Pokémon.


Pokémon Red and Blue are two of the most iconic video games in history, launching the beloved franchise into worldwide fame. These games are set in the Kanto region, where players begin their journey to become a Pokémon Master. With the help of their trusty Pokémon, players travel the region, battle Gym Leaders, and ultimately take on the Elite Four to become the Champion.

In Pokémon Red and Blue, players start by choosing one of three starter Pokémon: Bulbasaur, Charmander, or Squirtle. From there, they explore Kanto, catching and training Pokémon to battle against other trainers and Gym Leaders. Each Gym Leader has a specialty type of Pokémon, and players must defeat them to earn a badge and progress through the game.

One of the most exciting parts of Pokémon Red and Blue is the ability to catch and train a variety of Pokémon. From the cute and cuddly Pikachu to the fierce and mighty Dragonite, there are over 150 unique Pokémon to collect and raise. As players progress through the game, they can evolve their Pokémon into stronger and more powerful forms.

In addition to battling and collecting Pokémon, there are also hidden items and secrets to discover throughout the game. Players can explore every nook and cranny of Kanto to find rare items and special moves to teach their Pokémon. There are also mysterious places like the Safari Zone and the Pokémon Tower, which offer unique challenges and opportunities for adventure.

Once players have collected all eight Gym badges, they can take on the Elite Four and become the Champion. However, the adventure doesn’t end there. Pokémon Red and Blue offer a wealth of post-game content, including the opportunity to catch legendary Pokémon like Mewtwo and the three legendary birds: Articuno, Zapdos, and Moltres. There are also secret areas and hidden battles to discover, offering endless hours of gameplay.

In conclusion, Pokémon Red and Blue are timeless classics that continue to captivate players of all ages. With their charming characters, addicting gameplay, and endless possibilities for adventure, these games have earned their place in video game history.